Skip to main content
APRICOT 2023 logo
20 February – 2 March 2023
Sun Graphics

APNIC Hackathon

Call for applications is now closed.

The APNIC Hackathon will return next year, with the 4th Hackathon co-located with APRICOT 2023/APNIC 55 in Manila, Philippines.

The 1st APNIC Hackathon was held at APRICOT 2018/APNIC 45 in Kathmandu, Nepal, the 2nd at APRICOT 2019/APNIC 47 in Daejeon, South Korea, and the 3rd at APRICORT 2020/APNIC 49 in Melbourne, Australia.

What are ‘Hackathons’?

Hackathons (hacking marathons) are events where a group of people work together on a predefined set of problems, intensively, for a period of a few days.

Mostly 'hacking' means coding, programming, and software development, but there can be other creative activities involved. Although a Hackathon could be competitive, the APNIC Hackathon will be a cooperative/collaborative activity, creating free and open-source products.

Hackathons bring together network operators, researchers, designers, students, developers, testers and maybe even experts in other areas (journalists, analysts, activists, lawyers, and so forth) who can also contribute through their experience and background, despite not having technical skills.

Attendance to the 4th APNIC Hackathon is free but limited to 30 participants.

Applications to participate are open to all. A committee will select the participants based on their skills, diversity, and geographic spread. Participants do not need to know a specific programming language or technology but must bring their own computer to the Hackathon.

Key Dates

Applications open Thursday, 8 December 2022
Applications close Sunday, 08 January 2023 at 23:45 (UTC +8)
Application review Monday, 09 to Wednesday, 11 January 2023
Selected applicants announced Thursday, 12 January 2023

At APRICOT 2023/APNIC 55, Manila

Hackathon all-day session Saturday, 25 February 2023 starts at 9:30 (UTC +8)
Hackathon all-day session Sunday, 26 February 2023 starts at 9:30 (UTC +8)
Hackathon morning wrap up Monday, 27 February 2023 starts at 9:30 (UTC +8)

Why participate

  • Network and socialize with other professionals
  • Exchange ideas and points of views about topics related to Internet measurements and infrastructure
  • Learn new skills

Participants will also receive an APNIC Hackathon t-shirt, a certificate of participation and a chance to win assorted prizes. Teams with the most interesting results can also submit their project to the APRICOT Program Committee for a lightning Talk opportunity at the conference.

Who should apply

  • Informatics professionals (developers, testers, designers, and so forth)
  • Telecommunications professionals (networks/telecoms engineers, networks administrators/operators, and so forth)
  • Researchers working on Internet measurements, networking, or similar projects
  • Advanced students of technology degrees

Topic: IPv6 diagnostic framework

Develop a framework for IPv6 diagnostics that will help organisations in identifying and resolving deployment related IPv6 issues, as well as improving the performance and security of IPv6 networks.

This could include tools such as IPv6 address and routing table checks, IPv6 security, IPv6 mobility, IPv6 over low-power wireless networks, network connectivity tests, and support for debugging and troubleshooting IPv6 issues.

Publishing projects

Participants must publish the source code they develop during the hackathon on GitHub under an OSI (Open-Source Initiative) approved license. GitHub Terms of Service are available.

In case participants do not have a GitHub account, their developed source code will be published by APNIC under a GNU General Public License.

Jury and Mentors

Name Role Organization
Amante Alvaran Program Manager Google
Jocelyn Bateman Global Interconnection Strategy - - AU, NZ and Pacific Amazon Web Services
Kabindra Shrestha Network Director PCH
Narelle Clark CEO Internet Association of Australia Ltd
Philip Paeps Consultant and contractor Alternative Enterprises (HK) Limited


Name Economy
Dibya Khatiwada NP
Epeli Tagi FJ
Erika Sobrino PH
Joseph Kenneth Arino PH
Minh Lay (Makito) KH
Ninja Tadifa PH
Phyo Phyo Hein MM
Russell Deka HARADA PG
Subhashini Kadurugasyaya LK
Ulsbold Enkhtaivan MN